Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

It’s the Civil War. We are in New England (a region in America). There are so many houses, so many lives, but we are going to the Marches. A mother and her four daughters, Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy. The father is away fighting, leaving his family to struggle cheerfully on. But in those years, those years of hardship, so many things happen to occupy the ‘Little Women’. Their bond with Laurie the boy next door, Beth’s sudden illness, Jo’s writing prizes, Meg’s marriage. Meanwhile, we, the innocent reader, watch over each epoch in each girl’s life and maternally observe the developing of each character.

The stereotype that ‘classics! Oh no, they’re boring!’ should not, does not apply to Little Women. There is drama and death, adventure and marriage. Every chapter is devoted to an episode in each girl’s life, never drifting along. The book does not focus on one girl, but each girl is featured mainly in alternating chapters. However, the pace is quite slow. Also, the authoress writes in second person, enabling her to narrate the story, which, for me spoils my interpretation of the girls’ developing characters, as they are told to me.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

One thought on “Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s