After by Morris Gleitzman

Felix is a Jew. Hiding with Jew-Protector Gabriek. Imagine that it is his birthday. Imagine that the pair are coming home – to a burning home. Imagine that the roof falls on Gabriek’s head.  Imagine that Felix has to take him to the partisans, and that he lives there. And then imagine that the partisans are killed.

Now Felix has two goals – to avenge all the family and friends killed, and to survive…

In this series, many people die. And no-one comes back. So, a faithful follower to these books, I was elated at the discovery that two characters were alive after Felix had decided that they were dead. However, these doses of happiness were all administered at the end of the book and would have been more effective if spread apart more. One of the best things about this series is that not only does it show all the sadness and killing during the war, but Felix’s rage. The rage, the hatred, the anger that he felt as everyone and everything was torn from him. In my long list of books set during the war, I have never read a description of this, not even an inkling of one.

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did!

Note: This is the third book in the series. Once is the first, Then the second and Now the last. Also for those who enjoy this author, he has written many more books, such as Grace, Two Weeks with the Queen and Bumface.

After by Morris Gleitzman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s